See Ted Nation's message below about a special UFPPC meeting on Thursday, Oct. 21, at First United Methodist Church (423 Martin Luther King Jr. Way, Tacoma) 7:00 p.m. to discuss possibilities, eventualities, and plans regarding Election Day and after.  --  Also, please consider signing the Pledge of Action to Stop a Stolen Election below....

[From Ted Nation]

Some of you may want to sign the pledge below. I think the election could easily be stolen again and that knowledge of serious street demonstrations and other actions to follow may help prevent the act. UFPPC members, don't forget that we will have a meeting for those interested this Thursday night to discuss what to do after the election given various scenarios, including this one. Please forward this to other possible interested parties. --Ted Nation.


"I remember the stolen presidential election of 2000 and I am willing to take action in 2004 if the election is stolen again. I support efforts to protect the right to vote leading up to and on Election Day, November 2nd. If that right is systematically violated, I pledge to join nationwide protests starting on November 3rd, either in my community, in the states where the fraud occurred, or in Washington DC."

Initial signatories:

Stewart Acuff - Organizing Director, AFL-CIO
Fred Azcarate - Jobs with Justice
Patrick Barrett - RadFest: Midwest Social Forum
Brian Benford - Madison Common Council
Medea Benjamin - CodePink
Adrienne Maree Brown - League of Pissed Off Voters
Mike Brune - Rainforest Action Network
Dennis Brutus - poet
Andrea Buffa - Global Exchange
Linda Burnham - Women of Color Resource Center
Leslie Cagan - United for Peace and Justice
Tim Carpenter - Progressive Democrats of America
John Cavanagh - Institute for Policy Studies
Steve B. Cobble - political strategist
David Cobb - Green Presidential Nominee
Rev. James Demus - NAACP, Chicago
Charlie Derber - Boston College
Karen Dolan - Policy Studies & Cities for Peace
Theresa El-Amin - Southern Anti-Racism Network
Daniel Ellsberg - author
Barbara Ehrenreich - author
Larry Fahn - Sierra Club
Lisa Fithian - Root Activist Network of Trainers
Arun Gandhi - M.K. Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence
Ed Garvey - Fighting Bob Fest
Greg Gerritt - Friends of the Moshassuck
Ted Glick - National Coordinator, IPPN
Jim Goodman - Family Farm Defenders
Rev. Graylan Hagler - Ministers for Justice
Jody Grage Haug - Green Peace Action (GPAX)
Andy Heidt - Madison Common Council
Dolores Huerta - United Farm Workers
Rev. Jesse Jackson - Rainbow/PUSH
Reverend James Lawson - civil rights leader
Natalie Johnson Lee - Minneapolis City Council
Van Jones - Ella Baker Center for Human Rights
Pete Karas - Racine Common Council
Brenda Konkel - President, Madison Common Council
Rabbi Michael Lerner - Tikkun
Doug La Follette - Wisconsin Secretary of State
Barbara Lubin - Middle East Children's Alliance
Ben Manski - Foundation for the Democratic Revolution
Jessica Marshall - National Youth and Student Peace Coalition
Elizabeth Martinez - Institute for Multiracial Justice
Mike McCabe - Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
Robert McChesney - Free Press
Michael Moore - Author
Holly Near - singer-songwriter
Maya O'Connor - Labor Greens Network
Jamala Rogers - Organization for Black Struggle, St. Louis
Rebecca Rotzler - Alder, New Paltz
Marc Sanson - Co-Chair, Green Party of the US
Renee Saucedo - La Raza Centro Legal
John Sellers - Ruckus Society
Charles Shaw - Newtopia Magazine
Jane Slaughter - Labor Notes
Eleanor Smeal - Feminist Majority
Damu Smith - founder, Black Voices for Peace
Starhawk - activist and writer
Gloria Steinem - author and feminist activist
Ajita Talwalker - United States Students Association
Chuck Turner - Boston City Council
Chris Vaeth - This Time We're Watching
Rabbi Arthur Waskow - The Shalom Center
Jason West - Mayor, New Paltz NY
Bob Wing - War Times
Dean Zimmermann - Minneapolis City Council
Howard Zinn - historian


We all remember the votes that were never counted in Florida 2000. While we are all working hard for a positive outcome on November 2nd, we also have to be prepared for a repeat of a 2000 stolen election. By signing the No Stolen Election pledge, you will be joining with thousands of others in the November 3rd Urgent Response Network. Please sign the pledge and pass it around far and wide.

We have established a Fair Elections Advisory Council made up of U.S. and international elections experts who will give us their assessment on election day itself. If they find significant fraud, we will activate the Urgent Response Network on or immediately after November 3rd, calling on people everywhere to engage in protest, including non-violent civil disobedience, in front of their local federal buildings and other appropriate places. We will also be asking those who can to converge in the states where the most serious fraud occurred, as well as in Washington DC.

In addition to signing the pledge, please work with other people and groups in your area to protect the vote on Election Day on November 2nd and to build the Urgent Response Network. Pick a venue for your local protest in the case that the Urgent Response Network is activated, and list the time and place on the website. We also recommend that you set up a place to jointly watch the election results on Election Night.

Let us commit ourselves to making sure that this time around, the person who occupies the White House is the one who won the election.